Skip to Main Content

Special Problems in Science--BIO 3100-01: Databases & Journals

Dr. Smith's Fall 2014 course

What is StorySearch?

StorySearch gives you access to content from databases like-- 

  • Academic Search Premier
  • Biomed Central (open access)
  • Ebsco eBooks
  • Gale Virtual Reference Library (GVRL) (eBooks)
  • GreenFILE
  • Medline
  • PubMed Central (open access)
  • *Agricola Web Access (not a CBC database; click title to view) (*premier database for plant literature from the National Agricultural Library)

Did you know?

A database is an "electronic collection of research materials, usually journal, magazine, and newspaper article, but also ebooks, images, and video."

--from University of Notre Dame Australia Library website, accessed 11/16/11

  • Databases contain journal articles, images, video/audio clips, abstracts/summaries, eBooks, etc.
  • You can email, save, and/or print most database items.
  • Most databases will generate citations in your preferred format!

Database Searching Pathway

Suggested eJournal Titles

Look for these titles via StorySearch:

  • BMC Infectious Diseases
  • Clinical Microbiology and Infection
  • Emerging Infectious Diseases
  • Journal of Global Infectious Diseases
  • Mediterranean Journal of Hematology and Infectious Diseases
  • Scandinavian Journal of Infectious Diseases

What's a journal?

    • A journal is like a magazine, only its content is
      •   authoritative,
      • usually peer-reviewed,
      • highly scholarly, and
      • acceptable for college research projects.
    • Journals are typically field-of-study specific.
    • Story Library subscribes to academic journals in electronic format = eJournals. 
      • To find eJournals, use StorySearch.