Greek and Roman Literature: Lagniappe

a digital model of the Roman Forum as it appeared in late antiquity

a 3D digital model of Hadrian's Villa

samples of Greek/Latin texts read by various scholars and in different styles

"The Chicago Homer is a multilingual database that uses the search and display capabilities of electronic texts to make the distinctive features of Early Greek epic accessible to readers with and without Greek. Except for fragments, it contains all the texts of these poems in the original Greek. In addition, the Chicago Homer includes English and German translations."

"The Centre for the Study of Ancient Documents was established in 1995 under the auspices of Oxford University's Faculty of Literae Humaniores to provide a focus for the study of ancient documents within Oxford."

"The Center promotes cartography, historical geography, and geographic information science as essential disciplines within the field of ancient studies through innovative and collaborative research, teaching, and community outreach activities."

collections of fables

"Nestor is an international bibliography of Aegean studies, Homeric society, Indo-European linguistics, and related fields."
"The primary geographic nexus of Nestor is the Aegean, including all of Greece, Albania, and Cyprus, the southern area of Bulgaria, and the western and southern areas of Turkey."

"a reconstruction of an antique Roman map with internet technology"

Life and works of Virgil

"This website contains essentially all Latin literary texts written before A.D. 200, as well as some texts selected from later antiquity. These texts were previously available on The Packard Humanities Institute's CD ROM 5.3."

virtual collections of ancient art & artifacts

"The Stoa Consortium for Electronic Publication in the Humanities was edited since its creation in 1997 by Ross Scaife, Professor of Classics at the University of Kentucky, until 2008. The Stoa exists to serve several purposes: dissemination of news and announcements, mainly via the gateway blog; discussion of best practices via discussion groups and white papers; and publication of experimental on-line projects, many of them subject to scholarly peer review."

"a photographic archive of the archaeological and architectural remains of ancient Athens (Greece)"

"Dēmos is a publication of The Stoa: a Consortium for Scholarly Publication in the Humanities."
"The contents of the articles in Dēmos are licensed under a Creative Commons License (Attribution-NonCommercial-ShareAlike-1.0)."

"Diotima serves as an interdisciplinary resource for anyone interested in patterns of gender around the ancient Mediterranean and as a forum for collaboration among instructors who teach courses about women and gender in the ancient world."

"Rome Reborn is an international initiative whose goal is the creation of 3D digital models illustrating the urban development of ancient Rome from the first settlement in the late Bronze Age (ca. 1000 B.C.) to the depopulation of the city in the early Middle Ages (ca. A.D. 550)."

"It includes detailed documentary information on 30 Pompeian houses and their contents, consisting of 865 rooms and more than 16,000 artifacts."

"The database contains some 2000 artefacts found in this insula, including over 1000 photographs and 583 drawings. An introduction and an explanation of database fields assist the reader in using this database, which is searchable on a number of locational, typological, functional and other descriptive fields."

The Art of Classical Greece (ca. 480–323 B.C.)

The Roman Empire (27 B.C.–393 A.D.)

"EXPLORE COLLECTIONS FROM AROUND THE WORLD WITH GOOGLE ARTS & CULTURE, CREATED BY GOOGLE CULTURAL INSTITUTE."